• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

1978 E29 Portlights

mark.lutner

So this is my first time ever posting in a forum, and this looks like a great group so here it goes! I recently (2 weeks ago) purchased a 1978 E29 named Mandalay in the Chesapeake/Norfolk VA area. She has a few small issues, one of which is the port-lights. Obviously due to age, they have a slow but steady drip which is making a mess of the cabin area and I'm concerned about rot and mold since it has been going on for some time I'm sure. I've read a few posts about numerous companies that make them, but I'm wondering if anyone here has a contact for used ones that are in decent shape. Or even better, if you all have any advice on how to remedy the issue without replacing them.

This will be my first attempt ever replacing or repairing a port-light so if you have any advice it would be greatly appreciated! Also, if you have any tips on other known problem areas with these boats I would appreciate any advice you all have. When looking at different sailboats in the last year, Ericson came up several times as being a fantastic cruiser so I'm excited to be part of this community now and I look forward to any answers/help you can provide.

Thanks again!
Mark
:egrin:
attachment.php

Attachments

• IMG_1570.jpg
    IMG_1570.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 837

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
I see your problem

I dragged your picture off and rotated it. 'Twas hurting my neck to view it.
:)

You ought to do some searching here for window threads on 70's Ericson's. I believe that any window construction referencing the 25 - 32 will be helpful.