• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Advice please on attaching trim piece

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
Hi,

I would appreciate your advice on how best to attach a piece of wood trim. The problem that I'm solving is that the companionway hatch boards sit too low and leave about 3/16" space between the top board and the hatch slider. So I want to place a thin trim piece on the base below the bottom hatch board--ie. the hatch boards would rest on this trim piece, raising them 3/16" to close the space at the top.

I'm not sure how best to attach the trim piece to the fibreglass. I would like to avoid screws as it would involve more holes in the boat, and the screws would be visible (I'm not very good at woodwork to add teak bungs, etc.). I'm thinking of spreading some Sikaflex 291 or similar adhesive, positioning the trim piece, adding a weight on top, and when dry sealing the crack between the trim and the fibreglass with caulking which would also help with adhesion (I'm pretty good at caulking). My worry with this approach is that I'm not sure the adhesive will be sufficiently firm to hold the trim in place and keep it from wobbling, especially if someone were to kick it a bit on entering the boat.

Any better ideas, but still keeping it simple?

Thanks,
Frank

footrope

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author
Could you add a trim piece to the top hatch board? I was trying to imagine what the top board must look like, but it would seem to be reasonable to put an attractive strip on top. You would avoid the holes in the boat and the kicking hazards, and be working wood to wood, which epoxy can manage quite well, along with other fastening solutions.