• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

E30-2 or Tartan 30

TrueBlue

Member II
So have my eye still on a 30-2 Ericson but also been offered a Tartan 30. They are pretty comparable in price and condition. I kinda like the Skeg Rudder of the Tartan but it has a Gas Atomic 4 which runs well and has been nicely maintained. The Ericson has a newly rebuilt Yanmar diesel. I am a bit worried about the cracking I've read about between hull and keel on Ericson's though. I'm also fairly new to sailing and this would be my first boat purchase (some say dont do it) lol. I know its a bit of the jumping in the deep end and should probably start with like a 22ft something. But I figure if I measure twice and cut once I'll have a boat I can use for the foreseeable future.

Oh been also looking at a few Ericson 29's

So any thoughts or pearls of wisdom would be much appreciated. :)

Last edited:

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Thoughts, yes. Wisdom, that's more subjective... :):)
Tartan 30 was/is a good boat from a quality builder. Does this have the engine in a box under the cabin table? Easy to service, but in the way and intrinsically noisier.
I would advise against the skeg rudder. Boats with those are less maneuverable in marinas. At one time they were a selling point, but they have specific weaknesses, altho a good builder like Tartan likely built it strong enough.
The E-30-2 is a fast boat, and there are happy owners here that can weigh in on it. Do a site search for that model.The Ericson is a newer design, and the transom rudder is the most trouble free system you can have.

i believe that the interior of the Ericson is roomier, also.

TrueBlue

Member II