• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Electrical System Question

bigd14

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author
I have an electrical system question. I am starting to plan my system and running into some confusion regarding grounding. I have no experience with boat wiring so I have consulted Casey's, Wing's, and Calder's books and various other sources (and searched here). And I am getting mixed messages-imagine that!

My system will be pretty basic- a house battery running nav lights, house lights, bilge pump, a couple 12v outlets, and instruments, and a dedicated starting battery for the outboard (electric start with a small generator/rectifier). However, here is the rub- since I have no inboard engine I don't have a main boat ground. I cant use the outboard since it will be tilted up when sailing and dockside. On the DC side this is not a big deal I intend to just isolate everything that's in the water. And I am pretty sure I can simply ground above-waterline things like the fuel tank and deck fill to the negative battery post to prevent static build up.