• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ericson 27 Pulls to port under engine

JEZ

I recently purchased an 1976 Ericson 27 and have found it pulls fairly significantly to port under forward engine power. Do other Ericson 27 owners experience the same? Are you aware of any corrections possible? Thanks.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Kindred spirits:

JPS27

Member III
I have an 1977 Ericson 27. It pulls to port under power. I'm no expert regarding differences with engines, transmissions, props etc. but most of these models also have a good deal of prop walk to port in reverse. At first it irritated me. But now I just use it to my advantage. I use a spring line to safely get out of my slip (i'm almost always solo) in reverse because I like to head out of the fairway in forward. If I would just switch to a slip on the other side of the fairway the prop walk eliminate the need for the spirng line. But then I wouldn't be near my drinking buddies. ha!

Teranodon

Member III
I have an e 34 which also pulls to port under power but I see little or no pulling or prop walk in reverse, strange.
Ditto.

Every explanation of "prop walk" that I have ever seen has been completely unconvincing. Unfortunately, this applies to almost all of the "physics" of sailing, especially the ability of a sailboat to go to windward. I would never admit to this (I'm a retired particle physicist) but we're all friends here.

Mark F

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author
Ditto.