• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Evaluating potential purchases

K2MSmith

Sustaining Member
Hello All,

I am pretty new to buying a used sailboat. I have been looking at examples from 80's (so far E32's and 38;s). I do plan to have the boat surveyed once I find one that might be the right one.

Many of the boats seem pretty rough (at all price ranges). For example, how do I evaluate rust/corrosion on stainless steel ? Is red rust on stainless easy to polish off ? What about corrosion on the helm tower (lower portion ?) - that looked pretty bad to me Another thing I see is just a lot of staining/dirt on the decks. I am thinking that some of this can be polished off but it is hard for me to tell.

I don't want to miss on an opportunity to buy a boat that may have "good bones" but needs some cosmetic work. On the other hand, if I boat is neglected for a while, I start worrying about other stuff. I want a good base to start with.

Can someone point me to any good books maybe on the topic ?

Saw this one on amazon which seems to be highly recommend:

Last edited:

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
If you are shopping boats moored / operated in salt water, you will find "staining" on the exterior stanchions, pulpits, and most any other SS part. Remember that "Stainless" Steel, only means (hopefully) that it will not easily rust.
There are chemicals that will remove the staining and you can polish it out yourself. After we spent about 6 weeks total in salt water, our normally-shiny ss stuff was showing staining. A year later after washings with fresh water, It looks shiny again.