• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Hatch. Sealant or gasket?

Stuart 28-2

Member II
Hello all. I've been saying for about 5 years but I'm new to sailboat ownership. I have a1988 Ericson 28-2. See images of my Lewmar hatch. For sealing between hatch and deck I have not found any gaskets on offer or even reference to using a gasket or seal for this. Is the intent a seal or sealant? I know people often use sealants like 3M 4200 for this job. However, looking at the design of the hatch I really don't think it suits piling a whole load of sealant in there, or, maybe it's not the original hatch and it doesn't suit the boat. The hatch sits flat on the deck and both sides of the seal recess are the same height meaning there would be a very thin membrane of sealant between hatch and deck. If I'm supposed to find a gasket/seal can someone please advise me if the intended type. It's a Lewmar hatch.IMG_20210627_083842608.jpgIMG_20210627_083818921.jpgIMG_20210627_083959014.jpgIMG_20210627_084107292.jpg

Dave G.

1984 E30+ Ludington, MI
If it were me I would use white butyl tape but some do not like the ooze that may occur. Easy enough to clean though and seals exceptionally well without gluing it all together.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
The intent is sealant, not a gasket. 4200 is fine, so are other low adhesives. Butyl tape is OK, but I prefer it for small jobs.

Use plenty of sealant--that's what the recess in the mating surface is for. Mask with painter's tape to make clean-up easy.

goldenstate

Sustaining Member
Blogs Author
I did two hatches last summer with butyl tape from Compass Marine. I would try sealant next time around.

JSM

Member III