• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Head Help

jamescio

Member II
I recently purchased a "new" used 1982 Ericson 30+...Love the boat! I am still learning all the little things about her. I am having a couple of problems. The first is the head will not flush. I have located the seacock for the external water, I am confident it is on. It still won't flush.

What else could it be? Possible re-build necessary?

I also have a "Galley Maid" Stove in the boat. It has never been used. I found the alcohol storage tank this past week-end. There is a circuit breaker on the electrical panel...obvisiouly there is a pump; Where is it located? How can I light it safely? Has anyone ever changed the hoses?

As usual any assistance would be great.:egrin:

Chris Miller

Sustaining Member
Hi James,
First, Welcome!
Next, can we get a little more info? When you say the head won't flush- what kind of head? will the pump handle move? no water in? no water out? any fun noises?

Chris

WhiteNoise

Member III
Welcome! I also have a 30+ (1984) and love the boat.
Chris is right, a little more info about the head situation would help.

FYI if a rebuild is necessary it is probably not worth it. I believe you would have the same toilet as mine, the Wilcox Creden (I'm sure I'm spelling it wrong) and the rebuild kit is about 80% of the cost of simply buying a new one, with the added benefit of not having to rebuild anything.

I had the same stove, same breaker labeled for it, assumed the same thing, and had no pump. I belive you can actually pump the tank with a standard bicycle pump as the tank requires very little PSI.