• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Im a noob loooking for leaks. Any ideas welcome.

Eclifford

What do i check, how do i fix the leaks? I bought a "GREAT DEAL" Ericson 26 -2. Functionally, its ok. Now i have started cleaning and find problems. Leaks... boat seal not msintained..... help!

Attachments

• 16092492951002587776139535700050.jpg
    16092492951002587776139535700050.jpg
    106.2 KB · Views: 28

alcodiesel

Bill McLean
Welcome to the Ericson forum. I have found great help here and was a factor in buying an old Ericson.

After 5 years of re caulking a port light only to have it leak again I finally took others' suggestions to run water, starting low, all over that upper side of the boat. Slowly and methodically I worked my way to the sliding hatch cover. After about 15 minutes water was dripping out of the window frame.

Turned out some PO had installed the cover and failed to seal all the hold down screws. I re did them all and no leaks. Yet.

Moral of the story: The entry point(s) of leaks can be illogically far away from the dripping.

Best wishes.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Welcome aboard.

Start by using Google (or other big search engine) to search for each specific issue--leaky deck, windows, vents, and so on. Add "Ericson Yacht Forum" to the search line and it will retrieve threads here, as well as other forums.

When a thread discusses your issue, add a post to it. Your new post to it revives the thread and everyone here will see it.

The leaks thing is one by one, identification is key, solutions vary. All part of the fun.

JPS27

Member III