• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Main Circuit Panel

Mcrazzle

Hi Everyone!
I've been sailing for a few years now and owned my E29 for a year and a half, so I'm a newbie and learning as I go.

I've been on the forum for a while, but have really started diving into boat projects these past few months.

I'm wondering how easy it is to replace the main toggle circuit breaker. Last month when reconnecting shore power it wasn't working and then my fellow sail person was gently zapped (fortunately it was gentle). We realized there was quite a bit of moisture around the panel. I've since had the boat disconnected from power out of sheer terror but am now worried about the humidity. When I've been back to check on the boat, the moisture seems to be gone from that area, which doesn't make sense to me. (unless the humidifier really doesn't do it's job?) I did unscrew the panel and this is what I discovered. Looks like some corrosion is going on and that things have definitely been wet. I'm hoping to fix all this, but wanted to reach out because I know sailors have lots of advice/opinions and love to give it.

Attachments

• IMG_0440.jpg
    IMG_0440.jpg
    141.5 KB · Views: 31

toddster

Curator of Broken Parts
Blogs Author
That appears to be just a naked household circuit breaker - I hope there's some sort of enclosure behind there... AC devices should always be protected inside a properly sized enclosure. Pretty trivial to replace like-with-like. But it sounds as if you may not have a GFCI or ELCI device, which should shut off the circuit if it gets wet or otherwise shorted out.