• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Mystery Water in TAFG (Solved, Sort of)

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
We're talking about very little mystery water. Maybe half a cup. But that spreads through two E381 bilge compartments a quarter-inch deep, and where's it come from? [The TAFG, "Tri-Axial Force Grid," is what Ericson calls the hull-stiffening structure introduced in 1980s boats.]

And are we sinking?

It's salt water. Yeah, I've been tasting bilges for 70 years. Not a goblet full, just tip of finger. Rain water isn't salty like that.

Today I found the source, perhaps exclusive to the E381, maybe not.

It is spray from my dripless shaft seal, after two hours motoring. The DSS probably had a bit of goop between the plates, which I just burped. I have a new DSS on order anyhow, to be installed during the haulout scheduled for March. I knew it was time.

STUFFING BOX DRAIN, label.JPG

Where does it exit in the bilge, which is 10 feet away?

[This post edited by me to remove incorrect information. See posts below.]

Well, on my boat it comes out a hole high on the TAFG wall. Of course it doesn't come out until the water level has risen a couple of inches, and then it just sorta oozes out when it fills up enough, just to make you crazy.

So, now I know the source of the half-cup of water sometimes in the bilge after motoring.

The TAFG is a great feature but does make for puzzling drainage issues.

Last edited:

Kenneth K

1985 32-3, Puget Sound
Blogs Author
Interesting.

I've read discussions where people differentiate between "bilge" water versus water under the TAFG.