• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

N200 Network for Dummies?

maxton1

I read @goldenstate's thread on installing his N200 network and, well, yikes. I just want to install a simple network so I can use the dash panel function on my Garmin. The tach is out on my '84 28+ and I'd rather have something I can read from the helm, anyway, rather than having to bend over to look at the gauges. If I could just get RPM, fuel level, engine temp senders to feed my Garmin I'd be happy. Is this a fairly simple/cheap installation? I'm not an idiot, but I'm not a rocket scientist either. Has anybody had experience with this more basic network installation?

Baslin

Member III
I haven’t looked into what would be involved in doing that but I would guess that you would have to replace all of your gauges to be able to send data over the CAN network. Along with the gauges having to be replaced, there will have to be some sort of “brain” that would collect the information from the temperature gauges, tach and fuel, and then transfer them onto the CAN network For other control modules to pick up and display.

Marlin Prowell

E34 - Bellingham, WA
Life long computer nerd here. There is no magic bullet, but a little info can help understand the pieces.

A NMEA 2000 (or N2K) network is a wired cabling system that lets everything connected to it send and receive little text messages to all the other connected devices. Your Garmin MFD (which model?) knows how to listen for tachometer messages or engine temp messages and will display the values in the messages if it sees them.