• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

new e 27 owner

737800FO

Member I
Guys and Gals,

I'm a new owner of a 74 e 27. Its currently in the water and the previous owner couldnt tell me when the last time it was hauled out. It appears to be fairly dry, but there was some water in the bilge but I'm not overly concerned because no one had been on the boat since last summer.

I am a pilot and there are many similarities between sailors and pilots. Being a fairly new sailor, I am trying to approach this as I would as a pilot. Safety first, need to have, and then nice to have. There are no manuals with the boat, but I have been able to get some good info from this web site. What I am wondering is there anyone out there that has developed check lists for operating their boats. I can see a need (at least for me personally) to have a check list for starting the engine and just entering and leaving the boat. So, if you have one already or if you have thoughts or suggestions they would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark S.

adam

Member III
The first thing you should probably learn about are the thru-hulls and seacocks. (Holes through the bottom of your boat, and the valves to shut them off).

Find all of them, make sure they look like they're solid, and that the handles turn freely.

It's _safest_, if you close the seacocks when you leave your boat. And, you'll run into big problems if your seacocks are closed when they should be open.

As for the engine, it's going to vary based on how it's setup and what kind of engine you have. To start with do you know the make/model of the engine?

toddbrsd

Ex-Viking, Now Native American
Welcome Aboard