• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Question on Spinnaker Rigging

hcpookie

Member III
I’m new to spinnakers, so please bear with me.

Ernesto damaged the sheave mount for my spinnaker topping lift – presumably from wind damage since it was not rigged at the time. Soon, I will reattach it, and “While I’m At It”, I’m going to compile the rest of the spinnaker lines.

Some of the info I’ve read says to run a sheet and a guy on each side. The other half of the info says you can use only one sheet/guy per side on “smaller” boats less than 30 feet. My E27 is “smaller” by that definition.

Thus my questions – I want to go out on one of these calm days we’ve been having and practice a bit with the spinnaker.

1. I’m unable to figure out the mechanics of the 2nd sheet/guy set. One set seems sufficient, another seems redundant… it will probably make more sense on the water because you can only read so much, but I don’t want to get out there and realize I wasted a trip…

2. One sheet/guy set, or two sets for an E27?

3. Do you keep your lines rigged at all times? Seems to me that UV damage alone is sufficient enough reason to replace the lines with messenger lines until the day you use them… Dunno… ???

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

- Jerry

Seth

Sustaining Partner
Can I call you Pookie?