• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Re-finishing Cetol-ed Brightwork

Kenneth K

1985 32-3, Puget Sound
Blogs Author
I've never worked with Cetol before, so it's a bit of a mystery to me. I'm pretty sure my handrails and taffrail are Cetol treated from their orange-ish appearance. I actually don't mind the look. Not as nice as a quality varnish job perhaps, but I still prefer it to gray weathering.

trim (3).jpg trim (4).jpg

As you work towards my companionway, the finish seems to shift to varnish--the hatchboards, the trim on the companionway hatch, etc. It's this piece that goes above the sliding companionway hatch I'm not sure about:

trim.jpg trim (2).jpg

I'm thinking it might be Cetol becuase of the way it cracked/crazed in almost a grid-like pattern. It's also apparent that different coatings were used in different places (notice the discoloration around all the screw/bung holes). I removed the piece and sanded it thoroughly but it seems the wood still has a bit of an orange-ish tint to it (versus the non-coated side which sanded down to a normal brown-ish teak). Does Cetol penetrate that deeply into the wood that it would still be evident after sanding? Does this mean I have to use Cetol again, or can varnish be applied after sanding off Cetol? Is Cetol a time-saver over the years versus varnish?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
Hi Ken,
It's a bit hard to tell from the pics, but I think older Cetol looks even more orange. I'm guessing that you have older varnish, though I'm looking at it on a smart phone screen. I'll be interested in what others think.