• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Repair Hull Deck Joint under rub rail

Tin Kicker

Sustaining Member
The previous owner of my 32-3 had inadequately tied her when a major storm came through and pounding against pylon split the mid-portions of the hull-deck seam under the rub-rails. Quite ugly but I have some background in working with fiberglass so it's why I got her for a low price.
20190112_121051-X4.jpg

This needs to be fixed from the outside because the seam between deck and hull has a couple of plies of glass on the interior. You can not get to the joint from the interior. Be aware that those added coarse layers were sloppy from the factory and are NOT water-tight. There's a pretty good gap in spots between them and the seams. Below is what the joint looks like in cross section and the photo on the right shows why these boats are so stout. Even where rubbing a pylon had worn the flanged of the joint nearly to the contour of the hull, there's still a good half-inch of material with the interior plies spanning across the joint to hold the deck to the hull.

Hull%20Deck%20joint-X2.jpg

To repair:
1. Remove the old rub rail, then the silicone sealer beneath it. Notice how the silicone was not completely sealed to the boat, allowing the seam to probably leak even where there was no damage.
20190518_200830-X4.jpg

2. Lightly sand the crud to the surface of the paint because sanding is about the only way to really get anything new to stick where silicone had been. For sanding both the surface and in the radius, a finger belt worked best:
713sUAEAoZL._AC_SL1500_.jpg