• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Suggestions for securing fuel tank

Jarod

Member III
Hello,

I just picked up an 18 gallon Tempo tank to replace the original steel tank in my E27. The original tank was held in with a couple of pieces of plywood that were fiberglassed to the inside of the hull and also fiberglassed directly to the tank. It is my understanding that fiberglass will not bond with plastic, i was thinking of setting the tank in place and tying it up so it sits approximately where I want it (put a level on it), then i was just going to fiberglass a couple of 2x4s underneath and secure the tank to them with some steel strapping. Is this good enough...please keep in mind I am an amateur with woodworking and fiberglass work

Rob Hessenius

Inactive Member
E27 GasTank

Jarod- The Tempo tank that you purchased has places on it for a mount kit to attach. I think you might regret using steel straps in the future (rusting issues). Im sure where you are mounting this tank is in an ugly place. The 2X4 are all right if they are properly attached and I would suggest glassed and painted with an epoxy or poly paint or even Interlux Bilgekote. Rob Hessenius

Annapolis E-27

Member III
Jarod,

Which model Tempo tank did you chose to install? I am also in need of replacing my old leaky tank in my E-27. How did you get the old tank out?

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Strapping alternative

On our last boat I installed an additional water tank under the cockpit. I built a frame work in plywood and epoxy/cloth for it to nest into, and then secured the plastic tank down with low stretch dacron line.