• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

To use a Chartplotter or not, that is the question

patrscoe

Member III
I have been using my Simrad chartplotter at the helm for several years now and I am in the process of reworking my helm, instruments and network.
EV-100 autopilot instrument head is located to the right of the wheel, recessed into the fiberglass (opposite side of the motor controls). I can control it while ahead of the wheel or at the wheel.
I have my Simrad chartplotter at the guard in a pod. New depth and wind is now in the cockpit bulkhead.
I am thinking of eliminating my chartplotter at the helm and either pick up a handheld garmin or convert a Ipad into a chartplotter, mount with a bracket and use it when I think I need one.
I have turned on my chartplotter twice this season for only purpose was to locate a good anchor spot.
I am thinking... Do I really need the additional pod and chartplotter? I am thinking no unless I go to a unknown marina or trip, which is not that often.
What are you guys using and how often?

If I eliminate the chartplotter, I would reduce the height of the guard to 44". I had a J boat where the guard was lower, less intrusive but still provided the little protection that the guard provides.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author