• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

32-3 new main and sail track questions

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
Hi Frank,
Why do the tri-radial sails last longer? The question is kind of academic, as we ordered a crosscut main and tri-raidal jib. But I'm always interested in learning more.
Jeff
Hi Jeff,
I'm not a sail expert, but that seems to be a consensus among sail makers. As I understand it, because the tri radial sail is made with many small pieces of sail cloth, and seams and stitching are all in different directions, the stress on the sail cloth in a strong breeze is distributed more evenly and the stress resisted more effectively than in a cross cut sail where one long piece of sail cloth goes from the luff to the leach and has that whole length to stretch.
Others may have additional comments, but I don't think there is any doubt that a tri radial is superior to a cross cut sail. But if one only sails infrequently, or in light air, or is on a limited budget, a cross cut may be a reasonable option.
Frank

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Tri-rad probably holds its shape better but I doubt lasts longer. Service life depends more on weight of cloth and usage.

My lazyjacks are light Spectra, fixed to sides of boom (not under it), most-aft fastener position on boom dictated by longest full-length batten. Key is passive lines attached to spreaders about a foot out from mast. That spreads the lines a little for easier hoist (lazyjacks require boat headed accurately into wind on hoist, with some fiddling so battens don't foul.)