Bolo

Contributing Partner
It's always fun for me to combine both of my passions, sailing and photography and so my latest YouTube video is all about my new 360 degree camera and a daysail. I've been a professional commercial (Not weddings, never!) photographer for over 40 years and so it's always great fun to find a new cool camera. Check it out!

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
My wife's new car has a 360 camera on the dashboard which presents the car as viewed (impossibly) from 20 feet directly overhead.

Stitches together the car's many safety cameras with some magic program. Really useful in tight parking situations.

Bolo

Contributing Partner
Amazing! The observation point seems to be remote - as tho the cam is taking images of itself.
That’s because it is taking images of itself and if you look carefully in some of the scenes you can see the camera mount clamped to the dodger but you can’t see the camera. It basically “stitches” the scene around it to eliminate the camera. Stitching was available on even some of the earliest digital cameras to merge landscape images together to make one wider image. You cell phone can probably do it. I used the process about ten years ago to stitch together three images of the Harrisburg PA capital area from a bridge to produce a single long image that was used as an interior mural except I used a Hasselblad camera. But stitching like the 360 software does in video form is amazing. One of my photographer friends who saw the video said that it was, “Indistinguishable from magic.”

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
But stitching like the 360 software does in video form is amazing. One of my photographer friends who saw the video said that it was, “Indistinguishable from magic.”
Much like the prescient quote from Arthur C Clarke...! Oh so true.

jtsai

Member III