• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Advice for buying a second hand trailer for Ericson 26?

AnthonyWPrangley

Hi Folks

I was recently 'nearly bought' an Ericson 26 on CL. She was in the water and did not come with a trailer. Lovely boat at the right price. I am new to keelboats of this size. Without a decent trailer, I decided not to buy the boat.

I realised I needed to work out how to buy a trailer at the same time as working out how to buy a boat :)

I plan to store the boat for the Seattle winter at an affordable boat storage facility or on my father-in-laws large property. Either way - I need a trailer for twice yearly moves from bay buoy to storage and then back again - around 20 miles each way.

Does anyone have any advice about what to look for in a trailer for a boat like the Ericson 26 for occasional hauling... brakes, length, height and position of any vertical support posts. What is the 'good enough' quality needed to get started?

Once I know what to look for I imagine I go onto Craiglist or go by a boat and trailer yard of some sort...

I assume I would crane lift the boat onto the trailer? Or is there a scenario where I would self-launch a boat this size off an extended trailer?

Any thoughts would be appreciated?

Ant

Mblace

Member II