• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ericson 26 - Performance in light winds?

vasuvius

Member II
I'm a newbie sailor and am looking for my first boat. I spent last year doing a whole bunch of ASA courses and about 40+ days on a boat. I'm looking at an Ericson 26 (1988) and wondering how about its sailing performance in light winds.
I'm in the NY/NJ area and it's likely the boat will live somewhere on the Hudson river north of the GW Bridge.
Winds in the summer tend to be quite light most days and the tidal current is pretty strong.
I'm not yet sure what kind of boat I want and finding the balance between light, performant, between 22 - 29 ft, and with some creature comforts for a 2-3 day cruise is an enjoyable exercise.

Alan Gomes

Sustaining Partner
I believe the boat sails fairly well in light air. I have a 135% genoa, which gives good performance.

As for "creature comforts," for a 26' boat it has a surprisingly commodious interior. Again, you do need to keep in mind that the boat is only 26 feet. But Bruce King packed a lot of boat into a small package.

I do mostly solo trips to Catalina Island, and I have stayed aboard for two weeks at a time in good comfort. The boat has one really comfortable berth: the starboard settee, which pulls out into a nice wide double. The port settee is too narrow--though I'm working to rectify that by making the platform pull out to add another 6", which will really help. The vee berth is comfortable enough, though it does require some contortions to get into it. (This is true for vee berths generally, but the lower ceiling in the E26 adds somewhat to the challenge.)

Bear in mind that I'm only 5'7", so I can't speak for what taller folks might think.