Genoa car blocks for 86 E381

Wind River

Inactive Member
Hello all, this is my first time on this site. I bought an 1986 E381 last year...love this boat so far! However, I have no genoa car blocks on the inside tracks and am thinking about doing some club racing. The Shaefer blocks I have on the outside tracks will not fit on the inside tracks because there is not enough clearance between the track and the deck. As a last resort I suppose I could lift the track and put a spacer under it but I would much prefer to find a set of blocks that will fit. Most of the newer blocks I've looked at seem to be too thick for under the track. What are the rest of you Ericson 38 owners using?

thanks, George "Wind River"

Seth

Sustaining Partner
Genoa Cars

Can't quite understand the problem-is it that you can't get the cars off the outboard track? I could see that, but the cars should fit both.
Either way, you should have 1 1/4" T track-Schaeffer or Merriman, and Shaeffer makes several cars that fit just fine. If you plan on club racing, you really should plan on installing a block and tackle system so you can adjust the cars while sailing. This is one of the best methods of "shifting gears" while sailing (drop the cars back in the big puffs, pull them forward in the lighter air and when you ease the sheets for reaching).

If you do this, get the cars with the plastic(Delrin, I think) insert to reduce friction. Since they will now be adjustable, you don't need the locking pin since the block and tackle will obviously have a cleat-However,you can get them with a pin that can be left in the "unlock" position when using the adjuster system, and you would have the option of locking it if you took the block and tackle off for any reason. Let me know if you have more questions!

Seth

Wind River

Inactive Member