Sail measurements for old E26

notsew

I just got a 1969 26'. I was lucky enough to get it for free and overall it is in pretty decent shape (aside from the usual wear from sitting in a yard for the last 7 or 8 years) and I'm in the process of spiffing her up. I'm a starving college student and I am planning on getting some used sails. I am looking for the sail measurements for that vintage so I can scour the internet for a deal.

I was going to try to measure the IJPE but in my experience that never is more than a guestimate, I would rather just have the luff, leach and foot.
I found a site that gave the IJPE measurements for the king designed 26, but my understanding is that this vintage was designed by crealock and I thought maybe the sail sizes might be different.

thanks in advance for any comments

Seth

Sustaining Partner
Old 26

Wel, let's see what we can find...here it is: I=30.75, J=10.21, P=26.05, E=11.0.

Crealock's suggested dimensions for some of the sails:
Main-obvious-P X E

Headsails are Luff X Leech X Foot
150%: 30.75 x 29.66 x 16.15; Lp= 15.3
120%: 29 x 25.75 x 13.7; LP=12.25 (designer calls for a 20" head pennant on tihs-not needed, though)
Working jib: 27 x 22.7 x 11.83 (with 42" pennant)

Of course, given the relatively low cost of sails this small, it is almost NEVR worth it to buy used sails. The chance of getting something that is worth it is quite small.

You can reach me via this forum if you want to proced or need more info-send me a private message if you like.
Congrats and good luck!

notsew

Thanks for the info seth.

Are used sails really all that bad? I think owning the boat period is a bit beyond my means, my girlfriend keeps refering to it as a disease. If they are a bad option, do you have any suggestion to look for less expensive new sails? my local sail maker up here doen't quite fit that description

Forrest

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Oh Sail, Where art Thou?