• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

USA FLAG

Saverio

Member III
Good morning, I guess I'm asking something absurd, strange, my dream to put the USA flag astern of my Ericson 38 200. I'm a resident of Italy, is it possible? ever happened? Is it feasible? What documents do they ask for in the USA for my boat. A thousand thanks. Xavier

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
I believe that there are established protocols for flying the ensign of one's own country, and where to fly the flag of the country that one visits (as a courtesy). AFAIK flying a nation's flag from a stern post needs to be the one for the boat's country of registry.

When we "go foreign" (to Canada) with our boat, the US flag is on a post on the stern, for instance. In local waters we could probably fly any sort of bunting that we wished, and the local county River Patrol would not care at all. A passing USCG vessel might notice, tho. Any particular reason you would want to do this? How about flying an Ericson insignia burgee with the helmet&horns on it?

Saverio

Member III
In Italy, it becomes a problem to have a boat (over 10 meters) every 2 years you have to renew the certificate of state security, fiscal control, equipment, numerous internal and external controls, even out of water, with a Naval Expert, most of us use the boat on weekends, why these checks!! as if we had to go around the world, the costs have become exorbitant, in fact many have changed the Italian flag for Polish, Slovenian, Belgian, Dutch etc, all this, in order not to have problems!!!

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author