Garmin BlueChart info

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Besides my iBook and its nav software (safe down below on the nav table), I also have a new Garmin 3005C unit I am presently installing in the cockpit. I note that their web site shows both their older line of chart chips, BlueChart, and their newer line, BlueChart G2.

Anyone in this group tried either one or both?
Differences worth the bit of extra cost??

Having never before used this product, all "field reports" are appreciated.

Cheers,
Loren in PDX

:egrin:

Jim Mobley

Member II
Great products, useless website

Gramin makes great products. I have three of their GPSs and like all three of them. But their website is close to useless when it comes to describing software features, specifying which devices are supported by which version of the software, etc. :mad:

Sorry, Loren, I have no relevant experience with BlueChart, I just wanted to vent a bit.

Rob Hessenius

Inactive Member
Bluecharts vs Bluechart G2

Loren-- What is installed in your 3005 is the Bluecharts. What you get from the G2's are aerial overviews that "Lollie Pop" over the charts. You can also put your plotter into 3-D mode and navigate all at once.
Is it worth the dough? Hard to say. I'm not in need of this possible technology. I think I would put your $200 into another project. Or I would buy a chip, check it out to see if you really like it. If you dont, return it. It doesnt cost you for a trial at West Marine, plus no shipping. Rob Hessenius

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Guys,
To take your excellent points one @ a time...
Within the last year I have started lurking on a (huge) Mac navigation list serv on Yahoo. A Lot (!) of folks are now bitter that Garmin lied to everyone a year ago about providing Mac versions of most of their software long before now. Vapor ware!