I noticed my windex quadrant has rotated.

Merchey

Im new to having and maintaining a sailboat. Ive been replacing lines on my boat since buying it this Sept. Most of my running rigging has been replaced now except halyards and my jib furling line. Today I was out sailing and noticed that the quadrant at the rear of my windex has rotated and not lined up with the stern of the boat.

I suppose I need to come up with a bosun chair and go up and tighten or replace my windex. Ive been thinking about upgrading various electronics as I have a fairly aged chart plotter from 03. Im kind of intimidated by complex wiring including wind instruments on top of the mast. I saw a wind gauge set that transmits bluetooth the iPad or Android Apps. It looks very interesting to me. Maybe another reason to have to get to the top of my mast.

Im not really sure where to look for professionals to assist me with this kind of thing.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Being in Seattle, you should have some decent choices in vendors. We have only one, Rogers Marine, here in Portland, but they are honest and helpful.
Perhaps some of the other Seattle sailors can suggest some names.
The trick is to find someone who will listen to you, and can explain things well, and not just try to sell you whatever gizmo they have on the shelf.

Kenneth K

1985 32-3, Puget Sound
Blogs Author
An alternative to a bosun's chair would be a rock climbing harness and some Texas prussiks. That's what mountain climbers use as a backup to ascend to ascend a rope. Probably a lot cheaper then a bosun's chair.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
to look for professionals

It's good to get to know a rigger. You can start by asking for a rig inspection, during which he'll adjust the windex for free.