Vibration under power

steved

I'm new to this game as a 1st time boat owner and loving my 1977 E32. It has an Atomic 4. The boat has spent it's life on the Great Lakes and is now in Milwaukee.

I have a vibration under power that begins to be noticable at about 1,700 RPM. At 2,000 the vibration is seemingly 4-5X the itensity that it is at 1,700-1,800. The engine in neutral seems smooth all the way up to 3,000 which has me thinking that the issue might be related to the prop or the shaft.

As I very slowly raise the RPMs from 1,800, at about 2,200 the engine quickly races up to 2,600, 2,700, and it's seems like the prop or shaft are just slipping at that point. I immediately back down. This condition seems to be easy to reproduce and is a consistent reaction.

Are the two conditions, the vibration and the seeming slip of the shaft or prop separate issues? How do I begin to sort this out? I'm not mechanical but love putsing and learning new things.

treilley

Sustaining Partner
Change the tranny fluid, check the shaft alignment and see if that helps. Next replace the engine mounts and realign the shaft.

Your transmission may be bad but I would rule out the cheap and easy stuff first. also, call Don at Moyer Marine. He is a great resource for these great engines.

Rhynie

Member III
Sounds like a slipping trans; there is an adjustment for the fwd band - not hard but have to be a contortionist. The suggestion to contact Moyer Marine is a good one; I believe that there is an online manual available through them.
The A4 trans shares the same oil as the engine, so no separate trans fluid to change. Also, you want to stick with just plain old HD oil as the newer synthetic types are slipperier and can promote trans slippage.

Good luck,
Brian

tenders

Innocent Bystander
Not all Atomic 4 transmissions have the same oil as the engine. Mine (a '69 E32) has a V-drive which has separate transmission oil.