Advice on Ericson 28 - looking to take the plunge

berner73

Well, here she is:

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/list...rrency=USD&access=Public&listing_id=1424&url=

Hi Everyone,

New to this site, but trying to catch up with lots of reading - resulting in some rather bloodshot eyes at work.

My wife and I are in the market for a 28' to 30' cruiser to be used mainly for weekend sailing/cruising and maybe an occasional overnight trip. Initially, racing isn't much of a concern. We'll be sailing out of Boston harbor and plan on spending most of our time local to the North Shore coasts and Cape Cod.

I've been sailing for about 12 years, but mostly fresh water day sailing (19') with occasional access to a 27' Soling in Boston Harbor. While not biased toward any specific manufacturer, we're looking for quality and value. I'm not concerned at all with 'name brand' recognition at the marina.

Due to reputation, we were initially looking at Tartan, Sabre's, Pearson, etc. (and still are). During that search, I came upon this 1986 Ericson 28. I wasn't familiar with the company at first, so I'm glad to have this site as a reference.

At the top is the link to all the pictures and specs. I'm planning on taking a look at it over the next 2 weeks and thought I'd solicit observations, opinions or experiences from anyone willing to chime in. I've read hundreds of posts here, which is why this boat is in the running to begin with.

Thoughts on durability, quality of workmanship, asking price, and (if it's even possible), a general feel for the amount of work/cost associated with buying a 23 year old Ericson? Do you see anything from the pictures that screams out to you? Gotcha's that maybe only Ericson owners would catch? I'm looking forward to working on what ever boat we end up with, but would like to get on the water too.

Thanks,

Joe

Attachments

• 1866793_1.jpg
    1866793_1.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 1,247

treilley

Sustaining Partner