Assistance Please: E27 Resin Type?

Sean Engle

Your Friendly Administrator
Administrator
Founder
All -

I just got the email below from a yard guy named Tyler who's working on someone's E27. Could you please take a look and see if you can respond (here and/or directly to him)?

Thanks,
//sse

-----Original Message-----
From: infoexchange@ericsonyachts.org [mailto:infoexchange@ericsonyachts.org]
On Behalf Of Tyler Wilkins @ EY.o Information Exchange
Sent: Friday, June 19, 2009 2:20 PM
To: infoexchange@ericsonyachts.org
Subject: EY.o Information Exchange Contact Us Form - Tech support

The following message was sent to you via the EY.o Information Exchange Contact Us form by Tyler Wilkins ( mailto:lannondiesel@yahoo.com ).

--------------------------------

I am a technician at harborside yacht center in milwaukee, wi. I am supposed to do some fiberglass work on a 1978 ericson 27 tommorrow but i need to know what type of resin you guys use, whether it is poly ester or vinyl ester, etc.

If you could point me in the right direction i would appreciate it. Contact me at 414-248-9668 or e-mail me at lannondiesel@yahoo.com Please help me out even if it is just telling me who else to contact. Tyler Wilkins

Emerald

Am I not correct that the boats were built with polyester resins?

However, I'm a big fan of epoxy resins, and haven't used polyester in a long time. Any reason for this repair not to use something like West System, MAS or System Three? An epoxy would be my first no-brainer choice.

What type of repair are we talking about?

I would recommend using vinylester resin, especially if it is a below-the-waterline application. Vinylester resin is much more resistant to osmotic blistering, plus it is easier to work with, compared to epoxy.

Alan

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author