FX vs Ullman sails

gabriel

Live free or die hard
Hi all,

Im shopping for a new main sail and have two prices so far, one from Ullman the other from FX.

FX is about half of what Ullman is charging, so I was wondering if anyone had ever bought from either company. Both are for cruising style cross-cut Dacron with the same features. Any advise or tips appreciated, this is my first time buying a sail.

Thanks!

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
A local sailmaker, big brand or not, comes to the boat and measures, and is therefore responsible if something goes wrong.* They also give good advice, and therapy, regarding use, lifespan, materials (not easy to choose on your own) and especially design. High clew? Value of a Code Zero? Do I need third reef? They remain a sort of consultant on the boat, and a valuable relationship. For racing, reputation really matters--the winner's sails are the ones you want.

But price is price, and in my opinion, if the budget is tight and the boat a project, cheap trumps everything else. All you really want is white.

As I understand it nearly all sails are made in Asia. The difference is proprietary design, detail and service.

*Sails often arrive flawed.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
"Flawed".... yup. :(
Back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, I was representing a loft located in Seattle. One time i was hoisting the new main for a customer and it looked great, until.... we pulled on the leach line. It kept emerging, without stopping, until xx number of feet -all of it- was out, laying in the cockpit! Turned out that when finishing some stitching up near the head board someone drove a needle right thru it and severed the leach line.

Loft manager was embarrassed &had me ship it back fa$t and they repaired and returned it, fa$t. No other problem, and customer was quite content -- he accepted that the response to a problem was as important as the problem itself.