• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Looking at an E25+ tomorrow...

Dick Seacup

I am completely new to sailing. I've been on sailboats, but never sailed (if that makes sense). I'm signed up for adult lessons (2/wk, 4 wks) starting in June. In the mean time, I've continued my annual ritual (now in our 20+ year) of looking at sailboats for sale. This year, I've managed to find an E25+ locally that looks to be in good shape (but I've only seen pics) and a highly motivated seller who is wanting to move up.

The owner has told me there are scrapes and a couple of surface gouges on the starboard side, some gelcoat chips in the deck, needs a shift cable for the OB, but that's pretty much all he lists as 'negative.' Being as I don't know squat about buying a sailboat beyond the horror stories I've read for the last six years (yes, I'm getting closer to actually doing it every year!)...delamination, waterlogged decks, stressed out chain stays below decks, no backing plates, water incursion around all the hardware you can see and even some you can't, sheets and ropes that are ready to give up the ghost at any moment, blown out sails, motors that are fire hazards, the usual litany of "everything is suspect, so you might as well not buy used"...are there any items specific to an '81 E25+ that I should pay attention to?

Many thanks!

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Gettin' Started

While there are many helpful owners of boats in your size and age range that will check in with suggestions, one general suggestion is to get a good survey.
:cool: