Restoring E27

don954

I am restoring an Ericson 27. I am just getting started, but thought some might want to see the progress & other info about the boat. I have started a "blog" on it with lots of photos, you can see it here:

http://www.helpmenetwork.com/boat-web-blog/projects.html

If anyone has any info on the standing rigging plan, please let me know, the mast is down and I have no idea of which line goes to what chain plate...

Fencer21

Member II
Hi don,

As a matter of fact I have just finished a refit of my E27 (#517). It was hauled in September and I got it back into the water in mid December.

When we re-stepped the mast, I too had no clue as to how and where the standing rigging was laid out. Once the mast was up, we went around and attached the lines in the places that was most logical for them to go. It happened to workout. I checked the document(s) section of this website for a diagram of the rigging but I couldn't find anything. When I get some pictures taken I'll post them on this thread or I can email them to you.

I was wondering, is your boat sitting in a boat yard? Will you be doing the restoration yourself or will they be doing it for you? Also are you in Florida and did your boat sustain damage from this past seasons hurricanes?

Once you're finished with this whole thing you're going to very impressed, and pleased.

don954

Its in a boat salvage yard, it was one of the hurricane boats that were deemed good enough for some sucker like me to rebuild. :) I made a deal with the yard owner to let me use the yard for a few months. This place is great, so many old parts boats that I can find just about anything. Its kind of sad though, I watch them as I work drag boats that didn’t make it through the storms intact enough to rebuild to a area where they crush them (after stripping the parts off of them). :( But, I have lots of cheap serviceable parts all around me, and no one really cares if I get grinding dust and such on the ground..

Dave Hussey