Tiller Tender wanted: E-27

mrmagoo

tiller tender

WellI think it's called a tiller tender, I'm pretty new to sailing, First sail on SF Bay last weekend, yeah, great fun, I'm looking for a device to hold my tiller, theres a hole in the handle of the tiller so looks like there should be something to hold the tiller, while I 'm doing other things underway

Rob Hessenius

Inactive Member
DAVIS INSTRUMENTS

Tiller Tamer
Only $29.99 USD

+ Add To Project List

Product Rating: ------

Availability: In Stock
WM Model #: 160739
Manuf. Part #: 2205

Smooth, adjustable control of tiller movement, for short periods of "self-steering." Particularly useful when changing sails, motoring, etc. on short-handed boats.

Installs and adjusts quickly
Requires cleats or tie-off points
Includes a 7' of 1/4" nylon line

Attachments

• 160739.jpg
    160739.jpg
    6 KB · Views: 571

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
WellI think it's called a tiller tender, I'm pretty new to sailing, First sail on SF Bay last weekend, yeah, great fun, I'm looking for a device to hold my tiller, theres a hole in the handle of the tiller so looks like there should be something to hold the tiller, while I 'm doing other things underway

If that hole has a SS ferule in it, it might be for the quick-release pin swivel fitting for a hiking stick.
:confused:

LB

WhiteNoise

Member III
Second thoughts

I had one of those on a Catalina 25. I was not impressed. It is not useless, just not great. You also have to create two (adjustable preferably with a clam or cam cleat) attachment points for the bitter ends of the line which requires mounting hardware that it doesn't come with. By the time you buy everything it's a $50 plus investment.

I found that a good hiking stick would put me within reach of all major points of trim and if you really needed to tie off the helm, you can do just that with a piece of line. I like this one: