• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Windvane / autopilot question

N.A.

E34 / SF Bay
Hello folks:

First, this is a follow-on the Christian's extremely helpful thread,
Rather than add to an older thread, I am starting a new one with that reference. Being a newbie, I am unsure if that is proper protocol; hopefully so.

I need to get either a windvane or a more serious autopilot -- I have the Raymarine EV100 wheel pilot, which is great for what I use it for but does not give the solid feeling I would want on a long passage or in adverse conditions. My local yard (whom I like a lot -- bay area place with the Swedish name) independently suggested pretty much what Christian also says in his blog -- that the costs are similar, a windvane is useful really only on passage, and for sailing on the (SF) bay or approaches a below-decks autopilot will be better in terms of ease of use.

I am torn; I mostly in fact sail only locally, and there aren't many places to go from here that aren't huge trips (Monterey could easily be done with a battery-powered autopilot without a lot of charging; after that it's a long way to the Channel Islands, etc., and going North is a serious slog I am told. And of course there's Hawaii, which I am attempting to equip for.) So for most things maybe I should consider a more robust belowdecks autopilot, or maybe even just a better wheel pilot. However, for Hawaii a windvane takes no power, can serve (e.g. Hydrovane) as an emergency rudder (that can take a tiller autopilot, btw, for steering in no wind if one doesn't have a wheel pilot). So I find myself wondering about getting one of those.